December 31st – Resolution

Resolution you wish you’d stuck with. (You know, there’s always next year…)

Right off the bat, I don’t believe in resolutions anymore. The concept of making a resolution for yourself simply because it’s a New Year sounds novel, but really is futile. Most resolutions are broken within a couple of weeks of the person making them, as they were made merely because the person felt as though they had to come up with a resolution(s) simply due to the fact that it was a new year.

What I do believe in is goals or aspirations for a year, or month or what have you. A goal to accomplish something within a certain time span is a good way to go. For 2010, I have been working on coming up with a list of goals I want to complete during the year (this will be posted later on my blog).

As far as something I hoped to accomplish in 2009 that I did not, I would have to say that my goal for the year was to be back out on my own again. This partially got derailed due to my decision to move back up to Western North Carolina in 2010. Originally, when I had to come back to Florida in December 2008, I had thought that I would be moving into an apartment somewhere in Orlando, and this goal was still in my mind until about summer. By September, I knew that I wanted to instead get things together and head back up to Asheville when it was feasible. Thankfully, I spoke with my parents and they agreed that this was a good goal to shoot for. So, all in all, it is working out in the end that this particular accomplishment or goal did not get done.

——-
This blog post is in response to Gwen Bell’s Best of 2009 Blog Challenge

Leave a Reply

