Walking Observations

I go out for a walk/run three to four days a week as part of my workout routine. Being a creative thinker, this time serves two purposes for me. One being the obvious fitness rewards this gives me, and two being it helps me gather my thoughts and put together some of my ideas. It also gives me the opportunity to observe my neighborhood in a new way, through an observers eyes. Normally, we are all in a rush to get where we need to go or be, driving in our cars, not giving much thought to the world around us. When we take the time to go out for something as simple as a walk, the world seems to slow down, if only for a short time.

This morning during my walk and run, I took the time to really observe what was around me as my feet hit the pavement below. Some things, like a stranger’s garbage lying on the side of the road seem intriguing when you just take the time to simply observe. True, the rejected cup from McDonald’s may just be that, a piece of trash someone was too lazy to drop into a dumpster, but other things aren’t quite so simplistic in my mind.

Santa hat. Now, this is an odd item to find on the side of the road, especially in the sticky humid summer heat of Florida. The hat was lying there, in a crumpled jumble, covered in grass and moss. Where did it come from? Was it really Christmas in July for someone out there?

Sandhill cranes. A very cool and neat sight if you get to see them, especially when they are up close and personal with you. This pair was about five feet from where I was running. One of them even seemed to say “hello” to me as I passed by.

Old Nursery. My morning jaunt took me past my old middle school and near a place I knew well as a youngster. It was a garden nursery that myself and classmates used to frequent after the final school bell rang each day. Not an obvious “kid hangout,” the owners had candy, cookies and sodas for sale inside the small building. Seeing the place, now abandoned and closed, pulled me back to those years of running inside on a hot afternoon in search of a coke to quench my thirst.

Anyway, those were some of my observations today just being outside and watching. Have you taken the time to stop and take in your surroundings lately?

Leave a Reply

